THE SITUATION

Thanks to an exchange between the offices of the village of Puerto Miguel and the volunteers of the Solid'AKUU team, two problems emerged:

  • Access to drinking water. Indeed, with more and more dry periods, rainwater collectors are emptying and residents are forced to drink water from the Rio Yarapa, which is unhealthy and located 30 minutes from the village. This water causes diseases, especially in children.
     

  • Access for all to an energy source that is consistent with the lifestyle of the inhabitants. Currently, the only energy source in the village is a 50kW generator to which only those who can contribute to its operation are connected. This source of energy is too important in relation to the needs of the village and creates inequalities.

     

Based on this observation, a team of 13 students from the Solidarire association wanted to work on prototypes of low techs to filter water and provide a clean energy source. The models will then be built in the village in collaboration with the local people, so that each family can be able to maintain the prototypes.

SOLID'AKUU 
WATER AND ENERGY PROJECTS
WATER PROJECT

Due to the disruption of the rains, it is necessary to find a way to filter the water of the river.

The project is to create a ceramic filter that effectively reduces impurities in the water. The principle of this low tech is simple: a ceramic pot, sawdust, silver and a canister.

The simplicity of the equipment makes it possible to manufacture everything on site and ensure the sustainability of the project: residents will easily be able to obtain the materials to assemble new filters if the system proves to be effective.

ENERGY PROJECT

As the inhabitants mainly need a light source in the evening, it was decided by the AKUU association to turn to gravity light installation.

 

This system marketed by Deciwatt allows, thanks to a weight and dynamo system, to illuminate for about 20 minutes by storing the energy of gravity.

This light source works under all conditions and does not require the installation of batteries, which have a limited lifespan and are difficult to recycle.

LE CONTEXTE

Grâce à un échange entre les locaux du village de Puerto Miguel et les bénévoles de l’équipe Solid’AKUU, deux problématiques sont apparues:

 

  • L’accès à une eau potable. En effet, les périodes sèches étant de plus en plus nombreuses, les récupérateurs d’eau de pluie se vident et les habitants se voient contraints de boire l’eau du Rio Yarapa qui est insalubre et qui se trouve à 30 minutes du village. Cette eau provoque des maladies notamment chez les enfants.

 

  • L’accès pour tous à une source d'énergie cohérente avec le mode de vie des habitants. Actuellement, la seule source d'énergie dans le village est un groupe électrogène de 50kW auquel ne sont reliés que ceux pouvant contribuer à son fonctionnement. Cette source d’énergie est trop importante par rapport aux besoins du village et crée des inégalités.

 

A partir de ce constat, une équipe de 13 étudiants faisant partie de l'association Solidarire a souhaité travailler sur des prototypes de low techs permettant de filtrer l’eau et de fournir une source d’énergie propre. La construction des modèles se fera ensuite au village en collaboration avec les locaux, pour que chaque famille puisse être capable d’entretenir les prototypes.

Solid'AKUU : Projet Eau et Energie
Projet Eau 

Suite au dérèglement des pluies, il est nécessaire de trouver un moyen pour filtrer l’eau du fleuve.

 

Le projet est de créer un filtre en céramique permettant de réduire efficacement les impuretés  présentes dans l’eau. Le principe de cette low tech est simple : un pot en céramique, de la sciure, de l’argent et un bidon.

 

La simplicité du matériel permet de tout fabriquer sur place et d’assurer la pérennité du projet : les habitants pourront aisément se procurer les matériaux pour assembler de nouveaux filtres si le système se révèle efficace. 

Projet Energie 

Les habitants ayant principalement besoin d’une source de lumière le soir, il a été décidé par l’association AKUU de se tourner vers l’installation de gravity light.

 

Ce système commercialisé par Deciwatt permet, grâce à un système de poids et de dynamo, d’éclairer pendant environ 20 minutes en stockant l’énergie de pesanteur.

 

Cette source de lumière fonctionne dans toutes les conditions et ne nécessite pas l'installation de batteries, à durée de vie limitée et dont le recyclage est compliqué.