top of page

The Museum Project

20191022-P1052870-Pano.jpg

Context

Climate change is seriously endangering the Amazon by causing historic drought, due to deforestation linked to ranching and agricultural expansion. Researchers warn of the risk of functional destruction of the Amazon, pointing out that the titling of indigenous territories could significantly reduce deforestation. Protecting and restoring forests, particularly in the Amazon, is crucial to achieving greenhouse gas emission reduction targets by 2030.

16.jpg

Puerto Miguel

Puerto Miguel has a population of around 400, mainly descendants of the indigenous Kukama-Kukamiria/Cocama people. The Kukama language is in decline, with only 2.5% of the 19,000 Kukamas speaking it in 2003. Despite a history marked by the arrival of settlers, rubber fever and development pressures, the Kukamas have preserved their cultural heritage and traditional way of life thanks to their resilience. Despite the land reform of 1969 symbolizing emancipation, the Kukamas find it difficult to openly assert their identity due to the historical stigma of subordination, underlining the challenges of recognizing indigenous identities in the wider society.

20191022-P1052944.jpg

Tourism

Puerto Miguel, once focused on agriculture and fishing, is undergoing a major economic shift with the emergence of international tourism, resulting from its location in the heart of the Amazon rainforest. This transition marks the decline of the peasant identity in favor of a tourism-driven dynamic. With around 20 places per lodge, welcoming mainly Dutch, American, German, Spanish and French tourists for an average of 3 days, the rainy season attracts even greater crowds.

Project stakeholders

14.jpg

 

Mariposa, an association of artisans mainly composed of women, promotes craftsmanship in chambira, a local palm tree, with certification and active collaboration with the Ministry of Tourism.

nelvis.png

 

Nelvis Parades Pacaya, a painter, plays a crucial role in volunteering to teach Shipibo and Kukama indigenous culture to preserve this ancestral knowledge and arouse the interest of young people throughout the Amazon.

ucamara.png

Radio Ucamara supports the defense of the territory and the river, promotes Kukama culture, and participates in research, education, awareness and defense of human rights projects.

Akuu'be image.png

AKUU actively supports the Museum Project based on an in-depth impact assessment, to preserve culture, stimulate the local economy, raise conservation awareness and strengthen community engagement.

A MUSEUM IN 3 DISTINCT PARTS

A museum is a space for sharing knowledge, promoting discovery, information, and encouraging reflection, while broadening visitors' horizons with new ideas. To achieve this objective, the museum was designed in three distinct sections.

First part, the cultural interpretation center

Sala Kuruara, immersion in the Kukama aquatic universe

The first of these atmospheres will therefore transport tourists into the world of water andIgapo, a term used to describe flood-prone forest during flood season. Of thewooden structures will evoke the submerged forest and the depths of the rivers, while numerous sculptures representingaquatic fauna and flora will be suspended in space.

Foret (11).jpg
Foret (41).jpg

Sala Iwɨrati Tuwa, immersion in the Dense Forest

In this second room on a higher floor, visitors will be invited to immerse themselves in a second atmosphere evoking thedry land and dense forest. They will follow theIwirati Tuwa in this room and will thus have the opportunity to slip into the shoes of a jaguar, a large tapir and many other inhabitants of the forest.

Sala Tsumi, between sky and earth, shamanic Canopian immersion

Thus, for the third and final part of this cultural interpretation center, visitors will gain height and will be invited to go up to the highest room of the museum. They will learn a lot aboutspirits inhabiting the canopy, on the travels of the Tsumis, on shamanic culture etc…

vlcsnap-2019-12-06-15h25m18s068.png

Second part, the exhibition rooms

Third part, the store

Las Mariposas

Managed by "Las Mariposas", the final stage of the museum will be a boutique promoting local crafts, offering unique works of art and books about the Amazon, strengthening links with the local artistic community.

sib.png

Architectural Design and Construction of the Museum

Inspired by images of the Tree House Lodge in Puerto Miguel, South American architect Maria Agustina Pistolesi worked on the plans for the museum.

TEAMS ON SITE

AKUU Team

In January, the team of volunteers led by Ines Gronsfeld, Léa Loiret and Raphaël Moreau, supervised by Yoann Rey-Ricord, will begin construction of the museum. A second team led by Dylan Cluzel will follow in May 2024. Building on its past success in the Amazon, Yoann Rey-Ricord ensures the success of the project.

IMG_2421.jpg
equipe_constr.png

Construction team

The construction team, led byAbraham Macuyama, an experienced leader who knows the village well, will include 11 skilled workers. The site manager will supervise the quality of the work and compliance with deadlines. AKUU's role will be to meet the needs of the site manager, ensuring fair remuneration for workers and promoting harmonious collaboration.

Governance

The association Mariposa will manage the store, donating a portion of the proceeds for upkeep, including those from the Amazon bookstore, initially established by AKUU and now managed by residentslocal. AKUU aspires to a minor role in decisions, recognizing that local residents are best suited to run the museum.

yoannrr_architectural_plans_croquis_of_a_very_little_round_wood_c0eb6c40-ab7d-47ac-a2e6-11
chambira.png

Visiting times and prices

The museum offers30 minutes visit per room, followed by an hour of exploration. The cost of entry covers fees and pays staff.Thirty percent profits will enrich the collections, and70% remaining will be shared between the Mariposa association, artists, employees and the community. Provisional prices vary from40 soles (10€) for foreign tourists tofree for local residents, inspired by a Colombian model.

The forecast budget

The precise budgetary estimate for the construction of the museum, established by AKUU with the participation of the village of Puerto Miguel, amounts to€38,546.31 over 10 years. For the first 3 years, AKUU needs€13,982.51. The monthly maintenance cost of the museum is €400 over 10 years, with a cost of replacing the structure every 10 years. Costs in soles were converted to euros at an exchange rate of 1 euro = /S 4.06.

Want to know more about the Project?

Click Here 👇 
bottom of page

top of page

Le Projet Musée

20191022-P1052870-Pano.jpg

Contexte

Le changement climatique met gravement en danger l'Amazonie en provoquant une sécheresse historique, due à la déforestation liée à l'élevage et à l'expansion agricole. Les chercheurs avertissent d'un risque de destruction fonctionnelle de l'Amazonie, soulignant que la titularisation des territoires indigènes pourrait significativement réduire la déforestation. La protection et la restauration des forêts, en particulier de l'Amazonie, sont cruciales pour atteindre les objectifs de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d'ici 2030.

16.jpg

Puerto Miguel

Puerto Miguel abrite environ 400 habitants, principalement descendants des indigènes Kukama-Kukamiria/Cocama. La langue Kukama est en déclin, avec seulement 2,5% des 19 000 Kukamas la parlant en 2003. Malgré l'histoire marquée par l'arrivée des colons, la fièvre du caoutchouc et les pressions du développement, les Kukamas ont préservé leur patrimoine culturel et mode de vie traditionnel grâce à leur résilience. Malgré la réforme agraire de 1969 symbolisant une émancipation, les Kukamas rencontrent des difficultés à affirmer ouvertement leur identité en raison des stigmates historiques de subordination, soulignant les défis de la reconnaissance des identités autochtones dans la société plus large.

20191022-P1052944.jpg

Le tourisme

Puerto Miguel, autrefois axé sur l'agriculture et la pêche, connaît un changement économique majeur avec l'émergence du tourisme international, résultant de sa localisation au cœur de la forêt amazonienne. Cette transition marque le déclin de l'identité paysanne au profit d'une dynamique axée sur le tourisme. Avec environ 20 places par lodge, accueillant principalement des touristes hollandais, américains, allemands, espagnols et français pendant 3 jours en moyenne, la saison des pluies attire une affluence accrue. 

Les Acteurs

14.jpg

 

Mariposa, une association d'artisans principalement composée de femmes, promeut l'artisanat en chambira, un palmier local, avec certification et collaboration active avec le Ministère du Tourisme.

nelvis.png

 

Nelvis Parades Pacaya, artiste-peintre, joue un rôle crucial en enseignant bénévolement la culture indigène Shipibo et Kukama pour préserver ce savoir ancestral et susciter l'intérêt des jeunes dans toute l'Amazonie.

ucamara.png

La Radio Ucamara soutient la défense du territoire et du fleuve, promeut la culture Kukama, et participe à des projets de recherche, d'éducation, de sensibilisation et de défense des droits de l'homme.

Akuu'be image.png

AKUU soutient activement le Projet Musée en se basant sur une évaluation d'impact approfondie, pour préserver la culture, stimuler l'économie locale, sensibiliser à la conservation et renforcer l'engagement communautaire.

UN MUSEE EN 3 PARTIES DISTINCTES

Un musée est un espace de partage des connaissances, favorisant la découverte, l’information, et l’incitation à la réflexion, tout en élargissant l’horizon des visiteurs avec de nouvelles idées. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le musée à été imaginé en trois sections distinctes.

Première partie, le centre d'interprétation culturel

Sala Kuruara, immersion dans l’univers aquatique Kukama

La première de ces ambiances transportera donc les touristes dans le monde de l’eau et de l’Igapo, un terme utilisé pour décrire la forêt inondable pendant la saison des crues. Des structures en bois évoqueront la forêt immergée et les profondeurs des rivières, tandis que de nombreuses sculptures représentant la faune et la flore aquatiques seront suspendues dans l’espace.

Foret (11).jpg
Foret (41).jpg

Sala Iwɨrati Tuwa, immersion dans la Forêt Dense

Dans cette seconde salle à un étage supérieur, les visiteurs seront donc invités à s’immerger dans une deuxième ambiance évoquant la terre ferme et la forêt dense. Ils suivront l’Iwirati Tuwa dans cette pièce et auront ainsi l’opportunité de se glisser dans la peau d’un jaguar, d’un grand tapir et de bien d’autres habitants de la forêt.

Sala Tsumi, entre ciel et terre, immersion canopéenne chamanique

Ainsi, pour la troisième et dernière partie de ce centre d'interprétation culturel, les visiteurs prendront de la hauteur et seront invités à monter dans la plus haute salle du musée. Ils en apprendront beaucoup sur les esprits habitant la canopée, sur les voyages des Tsumis, sur la culture chamanique etc…

vlcsnap-2019-12-06-15h25m18s068.png

Deuxième partie, les salles d’exposition

Troisième partie, la boutique

Las Mariposas

Gérée par "Las Mariposas", la dernière étape du musée sera une boutique promouvant l'artisanat local, offrant des œuvres d'art uniques et des ouvrages sur l'Amazonie, renforçant ainsi les liens avec la communauté artistique locale.

sib.png

Conception Architecturale et Réalisation du Musée

En s’inspirant des images du Tree House Lodge de Puerto Miguel, l’architecte sud américaine Maria Agustina Pistolesi a travaillé sur les plans du musée.

EQUIPES SUR PLACE

Equipe AKUU

En janvier, l'équipe de bénévoles dirigée par Ines Gronsfeld, Léa Loiret et Raphaël Moreau, supervisée par Yoann Rey-Ricord, commencera la construction du musée. Une seconde équipe dirigée par Dylan Cluzel suivra en mai 2024. Fort de son succès passé en Amazonie, Yoann Rey-Ricord assure la réussite du projet.

IMG_2421.jpg
equipe_constr.png

Equipe construction

L'équipe de construction, dirigée par Abraham Macuyama, un chef expérimenté connaissant bien le village, comprendra 11 travailleurs qualifiés. Le chef de chantier supervisera la qualité des travaux et le respect des délais. Le rôle d'AKUU sera de répondre aux besoins du chef de chantier, assurant une rémunération juste pour les ouvriers et favorisant une collaboration harmonieuse.

Gouvernance

L'association Mariposa gérera la boutique, reversant une partie des recettes pour l'entretien, y compris celles de la librairie sur l'Amazonie, initialement constituée par AKUU et désormais gérée par les habitants locaux. AKUU aspire à un rôle mineur dans les décisions, reconnaissant que les habitants locaux sont mieux placés pour diriger le musée.

yoannrr_architectural_plans_croquis_of_a_very_little_round_wood_c0eb6c40-ab7d-47ac-a2e6-11
chambira.png

Temps de visite et tarifs

Le musée offre 30 minutes de visite par salle, suivi d'une heure d'exploration. Le coût d'entrée couvre les frais et rémunère le personnel. Trente pour cent des bénéfices enrichiront les collections, et les 70% restants seront partagés entre l’association Mariposa, les artistes, les employés et la communauté. Les tarifs provisoires varient de 40 soles (10€) pour les touristes étrangers à gratuit pour les résidents locaux, s'inspirant d'un modèle colombien.

Le budget prévisionnel

L'évaluation budgétaire précise pour la construction du musée, établie par AKUU avec la participation du village de Puerto Miguel, s'élève à 38 546,31€ sur 10 ans. Pour les 3 premières années, AKUU a besoin de 13 982,51€. Le coût d'entretien mensuel du musée est de 400 € sur 10 ans, avec un coût de remplacement de la structure tous les 10 ans. Les coûts en soles ont été convertis en euros à un taux de change de 1 euro = /S 4,06.

Vous voulez en savoir plus le Projet ?

Par ici 👇 
bottom of page